Political institutions

Burundi has been ruled since the beginning of the internal peace process in 1998 by an internal partnership for peace made up of two transitional institutions: the Government and the National Assembly. This partnership is in fact a Government of national coalition set as a triumvirate at the head of the country.

For the year 2000. Headed by the President of the Republic, Pierre BUYOYA, he had a First Vice-President, Frederic BAMVUGINYUMVIRA, from the National Assembly. Bamvuginyumvira was from a party and a social group different from those of the President of the Republic. Buyoya’s Second Vice-President was Mathias SINAMENYE, an economist and university professor.

The National Assembly had been presided over by Leonce NGENDAKUMANA for 6 years. It is structured on the same model so as to integrate all political and social wings.

These institutions will probably be replaced in the year 2000 by new institutions based on consensus and which are under debate in Arusha, Tanzania under the facilitation of the former South African president Nelson MANDELA, who, in December 1999, replaced the former Tanzanian President Julius NYERERE, who died in October 1999. Political pluralism is guaranteed by the constitution and almost twenty political parties are registered.

For the year 2002, our country Burundi is democratic. Arusha Accord of Peace and Reconciliation of Burundians was signed in August 2000 under mediation of Nelson Mandela the former President of South Africa. For the 1st November 2001 the Accord was applied, and from this Peace Accord, we have the President Pierre Buyoya, Vice-President is Domitien Ndayizeye, FRODEBU (Front pour la Démocratie au Burundi), Parliament, Government, Senator and Governors.